Sprouted bread & gluten content

http://glutendoctors.blogspot.ca/2010/06/blog-post-is-gluten-in-sprouted-grains.html

I had a brief interchange with a woman in the Farmer’s Market last Saturday which bugged me because I realized that I didn’t know what I was talking about in terms of whether or not there is gluten in sprouted grains. My impression is that a) it’s structure/chemistry has changed significantly and b) even if still present as gluten per se it is greatly reduced and has less impact for those who are gluten intolerant but not true celiac.

But when I thought about it, I realized that I couldn’t recall where I got this idea from or if I was just making it up. So I did a Google search and a few things came up.

Now bear in mind that for many this is a very emotional topic. And in line with what I feel about it, I paste in one of the comments to the post above:

“Since gluten is found in all grains, i have been following a grain free diet and was wondering about sprouted grains and grasses. thank you for your information and clarification. i will just continue grain free, no sprouts etc. i’ve been feeling much better and losing weight like crazy anyways. some of my pain is going away as well. the first time i tried gluten free, i ate other grains such as corn and rice and didn’t feel any better. this time, without any grains, i haven’t felt as good in a long time. it could be gluten, phytic acid, or lectins, or all three that have been causing my problematic symptoms of chronic fatigue, body pain, weight gain, depression, pms, brain fogginess and inability to exercise with muscle improvement. within a week of not eating any grains, i have lost weight, gained strength and energy, feel happier, and thinking more clearly and organized. do you know if meat from animals eating grains also affects our bodies?”

The part I find of particular interest is how the writer felt MUCH better when eliminating ALL grains, not just the ones with gluten. I am not sure if gluten is actually in all grains as she says.

In any case, there is some gluten in sprouted grains….

 

Leave a Reply

