Modern Wheat is a Poison?

http://naturalsociety.com/doctor-says-genetically-modified-wheat-perfect-chronic-poison/

I am instinctively against most modern interferences with natural organisms. Our ancestors hybridized plants and animals and for some reason I trust them more, but post-industrial tinkering I just don’t trust, and especially the past few decades with genetic re-engineering.

Interesting about the modern introduction of gliadin, vs. gluten……

Recently I have been featuring more and more heritage grains in my line-up, but my modern wheat white loaves remain the most popular, especially the Garlic Focaccia and White Sandwich, both made with Meunerie Milanaise stone ground unbleached very high quality organic white flours.

But last week (Dec 2) I made my first Red Fife White Loaf from Milanaise’s first ever batch of Red Fife which they planted this summer as documented sporadically on this blog (because I had a small part to play in persuading them to grow it!). The timing was off last week for that particular batch, but nonetheless the bread was delicious. So next year, even though the bakery is under pressure financially, I intend to move over to all heritage grains at some point and trust that people will pay the extra dollar in return for the extra quality and health benefits.

Now the article linked above is not very thorough and far from complete, so I don’t regard it as gospel truth. Still, it echoes my own sneaking suspicion that even though I am offering the best possible quality wheat flours, and processing them with 100% organic/natural methods (slow sourdough fermentation), really I should be using Red Fife not modern wheat. The catch: I already pay double normal wheat costs for the Milanaise stone ground white. The Red Fife is almost double again, i.e. 4 times normal wheat costs. I can’t sell many more loaves per week than what I sell now, and am barely making enough income to continue. So if I increase ingredient costs without being able to pass this on, then I will lose income and the bakery won’t survive. It’s a Catch 22, but all I know is: I want to move over to heritage grains only.

So I will.

And let the chips fall where they may!!

Next week I’ll take some pictures of Red Fife loaves.

A recent menu addition is proving very popular: 70% Milanaise stone-ground rye; 30% fresh-ground Red Fife kernels (from Speerville Flour Mill). Hydration around 70%, a little sea salt, 0.2% caraway, that’s it. Delicious! Baked in a loaf pan (1 kg baked weight) to give it a good shape for slicing and popping into the toaster. I am hoping more of my customers will gradually begin to favor these darker loaves. I believe they are much more healthy, and also that way it is easier to give people the heritage grains since I believe rye has not been tampered with and is still very affordable, not to mention delicious.

Leave a Reply

